Hi there! I’m just so excited to blog tonight because I have time to. Man, where is this time coming from today? I love, love, love it! I’m not rushing. I’m relaxed. And I’m doing what I want to do. It’s a good feeling. 😀

Anyway, I want to share a monumental moment that happened in my life this weekend. Yes, monumental. This past Saturday, I took part in the Winter Blast 5k. I signed up back in December over break, when I ran about a mile every 5 days or so. I knew I wanted to run in a 5k and despite my loathe for running in earlier years, I had a new mindset. Running was becoming a part of my habitual routine. I can do this. I can do this. And this weekend, I did.

My awesome friend Alise and I took on this 5k together, which made it so much more fun and doable. We trained together, running at the rec center, turf building, and outside, keeping each other accountable and having fun while doing so. Saturday morning we went to the race feeling pumped and throughout the race, we stayed side by side. I ran while listening to “marvelous light” and “whip my hair,” feeling my ever-so-tired legs press on beneath the cool February sun.

1mile. Yes, feeling good.

2miles. Oh boy, I’m kinda tired.

3miles. So. Close.

And the finish. It felt so good to finish. I will be running more races in the future. And each time I will push myself even further, relishing in the ability to make goals and achieve those goals. I heard once that you should do something every day that allows you to be closer to accomplishing a goal. So I often think of that advice and it really does help when wanting to achieve something.

I’ll leave you with a couple pics from the race!